The Moomin Quiz

My mother tells me that as a child I had this weird fixation on personality tests and quizzes. I’d always try out the tests and quizzes in magazines, and I considered them to be a kind of oracles that could look into my soul. I would take the tests with my heart pounding in my chest, and there was no way of convincing me that just because the Disney magazine stated that individuals born on Saturdays were cunning, scheming and greedy individuals who had luck in gambling rather than in love, it wasn’t neccesarily true of me.

Over the years I would say that I’ve developed a more laid-back attitude towards tests and quizzes, which I’m sure is a good thing, because in these internet times the quizzes seem to be countless, and they’re everywhere.


Which moomin character are you? Find out in my quiz!

One of the sites that give out hundreds of new quizzes every day is Now, while the site is a display of bad, bad grammar and spelling, and general abuse of the English language, and most of the quizzes bear names such as “which bratz doll r u?” and “Date or do Orlando bloom??? girlz only!! *s* *s*”, it was the only site I knew of for creating your own quiz, and so that’s where I went the other night when I had a bad case of insomnia and a vague idea for a quiz.

The result you can see here. It’s a quiz that should determine which character from Finnish Tove Jansson’s Moomin Vally books that fits your personality the best. I invite any one of you who feel like it to take the quiz, and I hope you’ll enjoy it.

(By the way, the Moomin books range as my favourites among children’s literature, and I think they’re pure genius and much more profound than most people give them credit for, and, in particular, more than that awful anime Japanese series will show. But I don’t have the time to get into that issue right now.)


PS: For those enquiry minds out there, I’m Moomin, apparently. I feel more like the Fillyjonk, but there you are.

See how relaxed I am about not getting the expected result? I’ve come a long way since childhood.


 *runs off to ask people, desperately, if I really remind them of a fat, male troll*

Leave a Reply

